n8n Community
n8n.io · 2 records in Developer services · JSON
Records 2
- trialn8n
Developer servicesno free tieridentity emailno cardlimit retention-clampedevidence documentedstale on 2026-12-03
- self-hosted, last resortn8n Community Edition (self-hosted)
Developer servicesverdict qualifies-with-caveatidentity anonymousno cardevidence documentedstale on 2026-12-02
n8n
Developer services- Free allowance
- No free plan on n8n Cloud: a 14-day trial with Pro features and a limit of 1000 executions, no credit card required; Starter is 20€/mo billed annually for 2.5K workflow executions
- Verdict
- triala time-boxed or one-time trial, not a recurring allowance
- Cost
- no price stated
- Identity
- emailno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- retention-clampedthe trial instance is deleted when the 14-day trial ends without an upgrade
- Evidence
- documented32 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-03checked 2026-11-02 (live); stale on 2026-12-03
| Free tier | No free plan on n8n Cloud: a 14-day trial with Pro features and a limit of 1000 executions, no credit card required; Starter is 20€/mo billed annually for 2.5K workflow executions unit requests; metered on request-count; When the trial ends without an upgrade, n8n deletes the instance; workflows can be downloaded for 90 days after. The n8n public REST API is not available on the trial. The free Community Edition is self-hosted only: the user installs and runs it on a rented or free machine. |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
Trial compute matches the Starter plan. |
| Binding | retention-clamped The trial ends after 14 days with the instance deleted, whatever the execution count. |
| Identity | email The Cloud sign-up page asks first for an email address (labelled Company email in one rendering and Email in another; the step can answer 'Email domain is not allowed') and then verifies it: a link is sent to that address, or a code is entered on the page. A details form follows with Full name, Password (8+ characters, at least one number and one uppercase letter) and Instance name (it becomes the instance URL), an optional newsletter checkbox and a Cloudflare Turnstile bot check. The form submits no phone number, company name or card detail. A multiple-choice onboarding survey that includes the company size opens once the account exists. The trial needs no credit card. Whether a screen inside the created account asks for more is unverified: behind a sign-up. |
| Egress | not applicable: workflows call third-party APIs; no traffic allowance is published |
| Per-object cap | not stated on the pages read |
| Retention | the trial instance is deleted at the end of the trial; workflows can be downloaded for 90 days after |
| Interface | rest the n8n public REST API is on Cloud Starter, Pro and Enterprise and on every self-hosted edition, but not on the free trial; during the trial workflows are built in the web editor |
| Tooling | the n8n web editor; the REST API and the n8n API node on paid Cloud plans. As a last resort, the Community Edition, which the user installs and runs on a rented or free machine. |
| Composes with | A 14-day trial only; for a lasting free automation layer the hosted free tiers come first (Pipedream Connect, Zapier Free, Inngest Free), and the self-installed Community Edition last. |
| Reliability | The trial instance is deleted when the trial ends without an upgrade. |
| Evidence note | documented Trial terms, plan prices and API availability are read on first-party pages. The sign-up steps after the email are read from the sign-up app's own front-end code and English text, not from a rendered screen; nothing inside a created account was read. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 32
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-30 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/use-n8n-cloud/start-your-free-trial | the Cloud trial lasts 14 days with Pro features |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/use-n8n-cloud/start-your-free-trial | the trial is limited to 1000 executions with Starter compute |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/use-n8n-cloud/start-your-free-trial | the instance is deleted when the trial ends |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/use-n8n-cloud/start-your-free-trial | workflows can be downloaded for 90 days after the trial |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/use-n8n-cloud/start-your-free-trial | the only free Cloud option is the 14-day trial |
| 2026-10-30 | n8n.io/pricing/ | Starter costs 20 EUR a month billed annually |
| 2026-10-30 | n8n.io/pricing/ | Starter includes 2.5K workflow executions |
| 2026-10-30 | n8n.io/pricing/ | the trial needs no credit card |
| 2026-10-30 | n8n.io/pricing/ | the Community Edition is self-hosted |
| 2026-10-31 | app.n8n.cloud/register | the sign-up page offers a 14-day trial with no credit card |
| 2026-10-31 | app.n8n.cloud/register | the sign-up page asks for an email address |
| 2026-10-31 | app.n8n.cloud/register | a second rendering of the sign-up page asks for an email and a Continue step |
| 2026-10-31 | docs.n8n.io/api/ | the n8n public API is not available on the trial |
| 2026-10-31 | docs.n8n.io/api/ | the n8n API is on Cloud Starter, Pro and Enterprise |
| 2026-11-01 | app.n8n.cloud/_nuxt/DOjQz-s4.js | the sign-up form's submitted values are name, username (the instance name), email, password, marketingConsent (false until ticked), timezone and a bot-check token; it has no phone, company or card value |
| 2026-11-01 | app.n8n.cloud/_nuxt/CZ8sblfI.js | the sign-up app's English text titles the step after email verification 'Finish creating your account' |
| 2026-11-01 | app.n8n.cloud/register | the sign-up page still offers the 14-day trial and states no credit card is required |
| 2026-11-01 | app.n8n.cloud/_nuxt/CZ8sblfI.js | after the email step the page asks the user to click a verification link sent to the address or to enter a code |
| 2026-11-01 | app.n8n.cloud/_nuxt/CZ8sblfI.js | the details form has a Full name field |
| 2026-11-01 | app.n8n.cloud/_nuxt/CZ8sblfI.js | the details form has a Password field and states its rule: 8+ characters, at least one number and one uppercase letter |
| 2026-11-01 | app.n8n.cloud/_nuxt/CZ8sblfI.js | the details form has an Instance name field that becomes the instance URL (lowercase letters, digits and hyphens) |
| 2026-11-01 | app.n8n.cloud/_nuxt/CZ8sblfI.js | the details form has a newsletter checkbox labelled 'Sign up for product news and community updates.' |
| 2026-11-01 | app.n8n.cloud/_nuxt/CZ8sblfI.js | the email step can answer 'Email domain is not allowed.' for an address |
| 2026-11-01 | app.n8n.cloud/register | the sign-up page's served configuration enables the Turnstile bot check |
| 2026-11-01 | app.n8n.cloud/_nuxt/DOjQz-s4.js | the details form renders a Turnstile widget for the register action |
| 2026-11-01 | app.n8n.cloud/_nuxt/CI8_Bu1T.js | the onboarding survey page requires a signed-in account (auth middleware) and belongs to the Authentication flow |
| 2026-11-01 | app.n8n.cloud/form/survey | page 1 of 5 of the n8n-hosted onboarding survey form asks the company size |
| 2026-11-01 | form.typeform.com/to/OArzTwNz | the Typeform onboarding survey asks the company size as a single-selection question with a list of choices |
| 2026-11-01 | form.typeform.com/to/bcoMdHSX | the chat onboarding variant of the Typeform survey also asks the company size as a single-selection question with a list of choices |
| 2026-11-01 | app.n8n.cloud/register | the sign-up app is configured with two Typeform survey form ids, the default and a chat onboarding variant |
| 2026-11-01 | support.n8n.io/article/how-to-rename-an-n8n-cloud-instance-7 | the registration process includes choosing a unique instance name, which is the instance's subdomain |
| 2026-11-01 | support.n8n.io/article/how-do-i-cancel-my-trial | the n8n help center states there is no free Cloud plan and that a paid subscription is required after the trial |
n8n Community Edition (self-hosted)
Developer services- Free allowance
- The free Community edition: what n8n runs without a license key, with almost the complete feature set of n8n, installed and run by the user on a machine of their own; registering an email address for a free license key unlocks folders, debug in editor and custom execution data
- Verdict
- self-hosted, last resortverdict qualifies-with-caveat: usable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path. Self-hosted options are listed last, because this site is for users who have no hardware.
- Cost
- not stated
- Identity
- anonymousno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- noneno named constraint binds
- Evidence
- documented28 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-02checked 2026-11-01 (live); stale on 2026-12-02
| Free tier | The free Community edition: what n8n runs without a license key, with almost the complete feature set of n8n, installed and run by the user on a machine of their own; registering an email address for a free license key unlocks folders, debug in editor and custom execution data unit none; metered on none; n8n's documentation scopes the execution quota to paid plans, cloud or self-hosted, and the Community edition is not a paid plan. The hosted 14-day Cloud trial is dev-services/n8n-cloud and comes first. |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
The Community edition omits paid features such as SSO, environments, external secrets and log streaming. The Docker Compose setup needs at least 4 GB of RAM and 2 vCPUs. The default execution timeout is disabled (-1), and users can set up to 3600 seconds for an individual workflow. |
| Binding | none The documentation states no quota for the Community edition; the machine that runs it bounds throughput, and the pruning and payload defaults are environment variables that the user changes. |
| Identity | anonymous No account with n8n is needed to install and run the Community edition: the one-line setup and Docker Compose pages ask for none, and the account is created on the user's own instance at its initial account creation. Registering that instance with an email address is optional and sends a free license key. |
| Egress | not set by the software: workflows call third-party APIs from the machine the user runs n8n on, so that host's network terms apply |
| Per-object cap | 16 MiB maximum payload by default (N8N_PAYLOAD_SIZE_MAX), raised by setting the variable higher; 200 MiB for files in form-data webhook payloads by default (N8N_FORMDATA_FILE_SIZE_MAX) |
| Retention | saved executions are deleted on a rolling basis by default, after 336 hours (14 days) or beyond 10000 stored executions; the user changes both settings with environment variables (14 days) |
| Interface | rest, cli the n8n public REST API is available on all self-hosted editions, and the n8n CLI wraps that API; workflows are also built in the web editor |
| Tooling | the user installs and runs n8n on a rented or free machine: the one-line setup script (curl -fsSL https://get.n8n.io | sh) or a Docker Compose setup, with the built-in SQLite database or Postgres; the web editor, the public REST API and the n8n CLI. From n8n 3.0, n8n is only distributed through Docker. |
| Composes with | Last resort after the hosted workflow offers (the 14-day n8n Cloud trial in dev-services/n8n-cloud, and the hosted free tiers of Pipedream, Zapier and Inngest): triggers, schedules and integrations run on a machine that the user installs and keeps running. |
| Reliability | The user provides, maintains and keeps running the infrastructure; saved executions are pruned by default after 14 days; from n8n 3.0 n8n is distributed only through Docker and npm installs are deprecated. |
| Notes | Self-hosted software and the last resort: the hosted offers come first (the 14-day n8n Cloud trial in dev-services/n8n-cloud, and the hosted free tiers dev-services/pipedream, dev-services/zapier and dev-services/inngest). This record is no duplicate of dev-services/n8n-cloud: it is the Community edition that the user installs and runs. |
| Evidence note | documented Editions, install paths, the public API, the pruning and payload defaults and the excluded features are read on first-party documentation pages; the installation was not run, and no execution quota for the Community edition is stated on those pages. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 28
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/community-edition-features/ | the Community edition is the free edition that n8n runs without a license key |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/community-edition-features/ | the Community edition has almost the complete feature set and omits a listed set of features |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/community-edition-features/ | SSO, environments, external secrets and log streaming are not in the Community edition |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/community-edition-features/ | registering an email address gives a free license key that unlocks extra features |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/community-edition-features/ | a new instance is registered during its initial account creation, so the account is made on the user's own instance |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/community-edition-features/ | the Community edition can be kept indefinitely and registration is optional |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/choose-how-to-use-n8n/ | the free way to run n8n is the self-hosted Community edition |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/choose-how-to-use-n8n/ | registering a Community instance with an email unlocks folders, debug in editor and custom execution data |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/choose-how-to-use-n8n/ | self-hosting means the user provides and manages the infrastructure |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/hosting/ | the self-hosting guides cover monitoring, logging, tracing and updating the user's own instance |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/hosting/ | every self-hosted installation without a license key is the free Community edition |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/install-options/one-line-setup/ | the one-line setup command installs n8n through Docker |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/install-options/one-line-setup/ | from n8n 3.0 n8n is only distributed through Docker |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/install-options/one-line-setup/ | Postgres is suggested over the built-in default database for a team or a production environment |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/install-options/one-line-setup/ | the built-in database is SQLite, a file-based database |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/install-options/install-using-do | part of the text of Limits, above |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/install-options/install-with-npm | npm-based installs are deprecated from n8n 3.0 |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/api/ | part of the text of Interface, above |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/api/ | the n8n CLI wraps the public API |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/build/understand-workflows/understand-executions | the execution limit quota belongs to paid plans, cloud or self-hosted |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/configure-n8n/basic-configuratio | execution data is pruned on a rolling basis by default |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/configure-n8n/basic-configuratio | an execution is deleted after 336 hours by default |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/configure-n8n/basic-configuratio | at most 10000 executions are kept in the database by default |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/configure-n8n/basic-configuratio | the default execution timeout is disabled with -1 |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/configure-n8n/basic-configuratio | users can set up to 3600 seconds of execution time for an individual workflow |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/configure-n8n/basic-configuratio | the default maximum payload size is 16 MiB and can be raised |
| 2026-11-01 | docs.n8n.io/deploy/host-n8n/configure-n8n/basic-configuratio | files in form-data webhook payloads default to a 200 MiB maximum |
| 2026-11-01 | n8n.io/pricing/ | the pricing page lists a Community Edition, a standard self-hosted version of n8n, on GitHub |