fshy

fshy / Compute / Storage

Databricks

databricks.com · Compute, Storage · 3 records · JSON

Databricks Compute

trialemailno cardDvolume-quota

www.databricks.com/product/startups · cloud VM · compute/databricks · JSON · compare

Free tier'Up to $400 in credits' on the free-trial table, with 'Full Databricks platform access for two (2) weeks used for business evaluation'. The page adds: 'A customer's eligibility for credits under this offer, the amount of credits (if any), and when any credits expire are solely determined by Databricks following account creation.'
unit mixed; metered on wall-clock
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot applicable
Retentionplatform access for 14 days; the credit's expiry is determined by Databricks after signup, and the trial ends when the credits are exhausted (14 days)
Egressnot stated
Identityemail no credit card is required to start the trial; a work email is recommended for full trial benefits, and the Free Edition accepts a personal address
Limits
  • volume-quota up to USD 400 of credits, 14 days of platform access, amount at Databricks' discretion source
this is a ceiling, not a grant: the page states eligibility, amount and expiry are decided after account creation
Bindingvolume-quota the credit is a discretionary ceiling with a 14-day access window, so the balance and the window end it together
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withUSD 200,000 on Databricks compute is the largest credit in the data-platform group and it also funds Neon Postgres, so one approval covers both a warehouse and an app database. The chain breaks at the funding round.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe 14 days is the access window, not a stated credit expiry. No all-purpose-cluster DBU rate could be read, so the credit cannot be sized as a machine. Working against the client's own cloud account bills that cloud provider directly, outside the credit.
Evidence rungdocumented the trial page was read on 2026-10-23 and carries the amount, the two-week access window and the discretion clause; the pricing page serves its SKU tables client-side, so no DBU rate is recorded
Checked2026-10-24 (live); stale on 2026-11-23
Evidence (3)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-23www.databricks.com/try-databricksquoted: 'Up to $400 in credits' and 'Full Databricks platform access for two (2) weeks used for business evaluation'
2026-10-23www.databricks.com/try-databricksquoted: 'No credit card is required to start your Databricks free trial.' and the discretion clause on eligibility, amount and expiry
2026-10-23www.databricks.com/product/pricing200 with 413 words; every instance-type path returned 404 or an empty extraction, so no DBU rate was established
More fields (4)
{
 "wave2": {
  "class": "startup-credit",
  "free_tier_kind": "one-shot-credit",
  "shape": null
 },
 "credit_usd_ceiling": 400,
 "access_days": 14,
 "dbu_rate": null
}
Unknown or withheld values (7)
  • $.egress.metered egress-unknown
  • $.egress.terms not-stated
  • $.interface interface-unknown
  • $.per_object_cap.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-applicable
  • $.reliability_note none-observed
  • $.tooling not-stated

Corrections

Databricks Free Edition (default storage / Unity Catalog volumes) Storage

trialinstitutionno cardRdisagrees

docs.databricks.com/aws/en/getting-started/free-edition · paas · storage/databricks-free-edition · JSON · compare

Sibling records disagree:

Free tierNo published byte quota. Free Edition ships 'serverless compute and default storage, so you can immediately start exploring and building' — default storage is 'a fully managed object storage platform' and in serverless workspaces you can 'create additional catalogs in either default storage or in your own cloud object storage'. Quotas are documented for compute, jobs, pipelines, model serving and apps — never for bytes.
unit mixed; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
EgressNot addressed in the Free Edition docs. Outbound internet is 'restricted to a limited set of trusted domains', which throttles external egress to non-approved hosts.
Identityinstitution derived from the record's prose, not from an identity field, and no signup was executed: thout a documented quota but also without a storage-native API — you cannot PUT arbitrary bytes without spinning compute, and compute is throttled to 'the rest of the day'. Custom
Bindingnone no constraint of a named kind was recorded; the verdict rests on the quota sentence rather than on a named limit
Interfacerest, rclone, cli rest
ToolingUnity Catalog volumes via SQL (CREATE CATALOG ...) or the Databricks CLI / REST API; no rclone backend. File access requires serverless, Unity-Catalog-enabled compute — 'All interactions with default storage require serverless, Unity Catalog-enabled compute'.
Composes withOne workspace per signup; the docs do not cap workspaces. Storage is uncapped in the docs but *only reachable through compute*, so the real multiplier is compute quota resets ('your workspace's compute resources will be shut down and unavailable for the rest of the day' on quota exhaustion; data is retained).
ReliabilityStorage without a documented quota but also without a storage-native API — you cannot PUT arbitrary bytes without spinning compute, and compute is throttled to 'the rest of the day'. Custom workspace storage locations are unsupported. Realistically a place to park tabular artefacts, not a 20 TiB blob archive.
NotesNo published byte quota. Free Edition ships 'serverless compute and default storage, so you can immediately start exploring and building' — default storage is 'a fully managed object storage platform' and in serverless workspaces you can 'create additional catalogs in either default storage or in your own cloud object storage'. Quotas are documented for compute, jobs, pipelines, model serving and apps — never for bytes.
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Evidence (4)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21docs.databricks.com/aws/en/getting-started/free-edition'Your new workspace includes serverless compute and default storage'
2026-10-21docs.databricks.com/aws/en/storage/default-storage'Default storage is a fully managed object storage platform'; 'All interactions with default storage require serverless, Unity Catalog-enabled compute'
2026-10-21docs.databricks.com/aws/en/getting-started/free-edition-limi(last updated 2026-10-18) — quota table covers compute/jobs/pipelines/serving only; 'Custom workspace storage locations' unsupported
2026-10-21withheldprobe: GET docs.databricks.com/aws/en/getting-started/free-edition-limitations -> 200 (read live 2026-10-21)
More fields (1)
{
 "dead_end": {
  "failure_class": "not-storage",
  "why": "No published byte quota. Free Edition ships 'serverless compute and default storage, so you can immediately start exploring and building' — default storage is 'a fully managed object storage platform' and in serverless workspaces you can 'create additional catalogs in either default storage or in your own cloud object storage'. Quotas are documented for compute, jobs, pipelines, model serving and apps — never for bytes.",
  "retry_when": "never; it is not storage",
  "first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (6)
  • $.evidence[3].url private-url
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.stated not-extracted

databricks free edition (default storage as an archive) Storage

fails: quotaemail?card?Rdisagrees

docs.databricks.com/aws/en/getting-started/free-edition-limi · rejected-provider · storage/databricks-free-edition-2 · JSON · compare

Sibling records disagree:

Free tierFree Edition is perpetual in the sense that it does not expire, and hitting quota does not delete data ('your data and settings will not be deleted'). But it is serverless-only with per-acco
unit none; metered on none
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot recorded
Retentionnot recorded
Egressnot recorded
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Bindingnone no constraint of a named kind was recorded; the verdict rests on the quota sentence rather than on a named limit
Interfaceunknown
Toolingnot recorded
Composes withnot recorded
ReliabilityFree Edition is perpetual in the sense that it does not expire, and hitting quota does not delete data ('your data and settings will not be deleted'). But it is serverless-only with per-acco
NotesFree Edition is perpetual in the sense that it does not expire, and hitting quota does not delete data ('your data and settings will not be deleted'). But it is serverless-only with per-acco
Evidence rungreported
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Evidence (1)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21docs.databricks.com/aws/en/getting-started/free-edition-limiFree Edition is perpetual in the sense that it does not expire, and hitting quota does not delete data ('your data and settings will not be deleted'). But it is serverless-only with per-acco
More fields (1)
{
 "dead_end": {
  "failure_class": "retention",
  "why": "Free Edition is perpetual in the sense that it does not expire, and hitting quota does not delete data ('your data and settings will not be deleted'). But it is serverless-only with per-acco",
  "retry_when": null,
  "first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (15)
  • $.chaining not-recorded
  • $.confidence_note withheld
  • $.egress.terms not-recorded
  • $.extras.dead_end.retry_when process
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.identity_cost.detail defaulted
  • $.identity_cost.kind identity-defaulted
  • $.interface interface-unknown
  • $.interface_detail withheld
  • $.limits_note process
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-recorded
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-recorded
  • $.retention.notes process
  • $.retention.stated not-recorded
  • $.tooling not-recorded