fshy

fshy / Compute / Storage

HostHatch

hosthatch.com · Compute, Storage · 3 records · JSON

HostHatch Compute

★ qualifiescardcardDvolume-quotadisagrees

hosthatch.com/products · VPS · compute/hosthatch-nvme-2gb · JSON · compare

Sibling records disagree:

Free tierno free tier; 'NVMe 2 GB from $4.00 / month'
unit none; metered on none
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot applicable
Retentionthe disk persists while the plan is paid
Egress1 TB a month on the NVMe 2 GB plan, from the plan table column 'Bandwidth'
free_allowance: 1 TB
Identitycard an account and a payment method at order
Limits
  • volume-quota 1 TB a month of bandwidth source
  • per-object-cap 10 GB NVMe on this rung source
Bindingvolume-quota 1 TB a month is the smallest allowance of any row, and it fails before the 2 GiB of RAM does for anything that serves bytes.
Interfacessh root SSH, the vendor's Peregrine control panel, user-supplied ISOs
Toolingany SSH client; Peregrine panel
Composes witha 2 GiB box with NVMe and dedicated CPU allocation, useful where disk latency matters more than RAM
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesInside the line at USD 4.00 for 2 GiB, but the 10 GB disk and 1 TB traffic make it the thinnest row per dollar of RAM. The 4 GB rung is USD 6.00 and therefore out. Prices are 'from', so a location may quote higher; the page does not enumerate per-location rates.
Evidence rungdocumented the two rungs, their shapes and their prices are quoted from the vendor's product page read today; 'from' means the rate varies by location, and the locations were not enumerated.
Checked2026-10-25 (live); stale on 2026-11-24
Parsed numbers
  • $.extras.m10h_usd price USD4.0 / month
  • $.extras.m24h_usd price USD4.0 / month
  • $.extras.renewal_usd price USD4.0 / month
  • $.limits[0].value limit:volume-quota 1.0 TB / month
  • $.limits[1].value limit:per-object-cap 10.0 GB
Evidence (2)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-24hosthatch.com/productsquoted: 'NVMe 2 GB from $4.00 / month', '1 AMD EPYC core ( fair share )', '2 GB DDR4', '10 GB NVMe', '1 TB'
2026-10-24hosthatch.com/productsquoted: 'NVMe 4 GB from $6.00 / month', '2 AMD EPYC cores ( fair share )', '4 GB DDR4', '20 GB NVMe'
More fields (16)
{
 "shape": {
  "vcpu": 1,
  "ram_gib": 2,
  "disk_gib": 10,
  "gpu_class": null,
  "gpu_count": null
 },
 "billing_model": "monthly",
 "term": "monthly",
 "m10h_usd": 4.0,
 "m24h_usd": 4.0,
 "price_arithmetic": "USD 4.00/month flat; 730 h x USD 0.0055/h equivalent",
 "out_of_pocket_usd": 4.0,
 "renewal_usd": 4.0,
 "renewal_note": "'from' price; renewal at the location's rate, not enumerated",
 "promo": false,
 "port_mbps": null,
 "ipv4_included": null,
 "ipv6": true,
 "free_tier_kind": "none",
 "network_out": {
  "allow_outbound": true,
  "allow_inbound_listen": true,
  "ports": "all",
  "static_ip": null,
  "ipv6": true,
  "per_session_bytes": null
 },
 "session_cap": {
  "wall_clock_min": null,
  "idle_reap_s": null,
  "restart_required": false,
  "note": "none; it is a VPS"
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (2)
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-applicable
  • $.reliability_note none-observed

HostHatch Storage VM Storage

caveatcardcardRper-ip-shaping

hosthatch.com/products · storage-vps · storage/hosthatch-storage-vm · JSON · compare

Free tier1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6 / 8 / 10 TB HDD, 'enterprise-grade spinning hard disk drives', 8 locations.
unit TB; metered on unstated
Price$3.80/TB/mo at 10 TB ($38/mo, 25 TB included). At 5 TB: $20/mo = $4.00/TB (12.5 TB included). At 20 TB: two 10 TB VMs = $76/mo = $3.80/TB. Pricing is linear — no volume break — so the 10 TB rung is the only sensible buy.
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
EgressMetered with throttle-on-exceed, no published per-TB overage price. Ratios are 2.5x storage: 1 TB plan = 2.5 TB, 2 TB = 5 TB, 5 TB = 12.5 TB, 10 TB = 25 TB. Exceeding it is throttling, not billing — a holder of the 2 TB Hong Kong plan reports '2.5 TB (throttled to about 5 Mbps after limit from my experience)' (LET thread 217891). APAC bandwidth is a separate, smaller pool: a HostHatch rep confirmed on LET that 'the actual limit is 3TB per month for Singapore' while the site quoted 7.5 TB (thread 194949).
free_allowance: 3TB per month
Identitycard card
Limits
  • per-ip-shaping 50 GB/day source
per-object-cap: none. APAC gets 40% of the advertised bandwidth (3 TB instead of 7.5 TB on the 3 TB plan).
Bindingper-ip-shaping one stream is shaped, and a user's throughput is the shaped rate times the number of streams
Interfacerest, sftp, rsync, rclone sftp, rsync, rest (self-hosted)
Toolingrclone SFTP, Borg/Restic, root KVM
Composes withRoot KVM. Note the array is RAID-50 on some nodes — HostHatch itself conceded on LET that 'RAID 50 comes with an inherently higher risk as compared to RAID 10' (thread 188952).
ReliabilityMixed and the worst reliability record of the three leaders. Documented incidents: HostHatch Chicago storage 'data lost' with 5d15h downtime and multi-day ticket silence (thread 178049); Stockholm storage down (thread 199687); Los Angeles storage outage (thread 188952); one user reports being suspended for writing ~50 GB/day because it 'degrades their array' despite being under the bandwidth cap (thread 122150). Countervailing: a 859-day and a since-2015 customer both report the service as solid (threads 163774, 194092).
Notes1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6 / 8 / 10 TB HDD, 'enterprise-grade spinning hard disk drives', 8 locations.
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Parsed numbers
  • $.limits[0].value limit:per-ip-shaping 50.0 GB / day
  • $.price_per_tb_month price-per-tb USD3.8 TB / month
Evidence (4)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21hosthatch.com/productsnot published
2026-10-21lowendtalk.com/discussion/217891/'2.5 TB (throttled to about 5 Mbps after limit from my experience)'
2026-10-21lowendtalk.com/discussion/194949/HostHatch rep: Singapore 'actual limit is 3TB per month'
2026-10-21lowendtalk.com/discussion/178049/Chicago storage data loss
More fields (1)
{
 "price_verbatim": "$3.80/TB/mo at 10 TB ($38/mo, 25 TB included). At 5 TB: $20/mo = $4.00/TB (12.5 TB included). At 20 TB: two 10 TB VMs = $76/mo = $3.80/TB. Pricing is linear — no volume break — so the 10 TB rung is the only sensible buy."
}
Unknown or withheld values (6)
  • $.evidence[0].proved withheld
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.stated not-extracted

HostHatch Compute

paidcardcardDvolume-quotadisagrees

hosthatch.com/products · cloud VM · compute/hosthatch · JSON · compare

Sibling records disagree:

Free tierThe cheapest NVMe compute VM in the standing catalogue is 'NVMe 2 GB' at 'from $4.00 / month': 1 AMD EPYC core on fair share, 2 GB DDR4, 10 GB NVMe, 1 TB monthly transfer. The ladder above it, all quoted from the same table: 4 GB / 20 GB NVMe / 1 TB at $6.00; 8 GB / 35 GB / 2 TB at $9.00; 12 GB / 50 GB / 3 TB at $12.00 (4 cores, 1 dedicated); 16 GB / 75 GB / 4 TB at $15.00; 24 GB / 100 GB / 6 TB at $22.00; 32 GB / 125 GB / 8 TB at $29.00; 48 GB / 150 GB / 12 TB at $39.00; 64 GB / 200 GB / 15 TB at $49.00; 96 GB / 250 GB / 20 TB at $69.00. A second product line, Storage VMs on spinning disk, starts at 'Storage 1TB from $5.00 / month' with 1 vCPU core, 1024 MB RAM, 1000 GB disk and 2500 GB transfer, up to 10 TB disk with 25000 GB transfer for $38.00, in 8 locations. The homepage states the entry price twice over: 'Our smallest plan costs $4 per month (less than a cup of coffee).'
unit GiB; metered on wall-clock; none
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot applicable
Retentionnot applicable
Egresseach plan carries a monthly transfer allowance rather than an unlimited port: 1 TB on the NVMe 2 GB plan, rising with the plan to 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 15 and 20 TB. The page states in a footnote that APAC limits are lower and are shown only on hover, and the vendor's own anniversary post gives the shape of that gap: '5 TB bandwidth (3 TB in APAC, 1.5TB in Seoul)'. Extra bandwidth is sold on top in fixed sizes through the API and the console.
free_allowance: 1024 GB per month on the NVMe 2 GB plan; lower in APAC, by an amount this read could not capture
price_per_tb: not published on any page read: the API exposes an extra_bandwidth price list per product, and the documented values are explicitly illustrative ('The examples' prices are illustrations'), so no rate is recorded
Identitycard not stated on the page read, and stated precisely: no page read lists the accepted payment methods. What is documented is that an order ships only against money. The API docs say an order 'pays for itself from the project owner's account credit when the credit covers it. Otherwise it waits while its invoice is paid in the console', so either prepaid credit or a payment instrument is needed before any server exists. The older signup form asks for 'your personal information as accurately as possible to avoid false-positives by our fraud detection system' and says it is used 'for your invoices and any other billing related processes'. The new console signup asks only for email, password and an optional project id, so nothing is charged at registration; the charge lands on the first invoice. A third-party benchmark table lists Stripe, PayPal and bank transfer as accepted, which is reported and was not verified here.
Limits
  • volume-quota 1 TB a month is 33 GB a day, 3 percent of one day of the client's 1 TiB serving target, so the monthly counter is the first wall; behind it sit a 10 GB NVMe disk that holds no working set and a single fair-share core, which makes this a control node rather than a data node. source
1 TB a month is 33 GB a day, 3 percent of one day of the client's 1 TiB serving target, so the monthly counter is the first wall; behind it sit a 10 GB NVMe disk that holds no working set and a single fair-share core, which makes this a control node rather than a data node.
Bindingvolume-quota 1 TB a month is 33 GB a day, 3 percent of one day of the client's 1 TiB serving target, so the monthly counter is the first wall; behind it sit a 10 GB NVMe disk that holds no working set and a single fair-share core, which makes this a control node rather than a data node.
Interfacessh, rest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingroot KVM on the vendor's own hardware, so any client runs inside the VM and no wrapper is needed. The vendor documents its own control panel (Peregrine) and a REST API at https://docs.hosthatch.com/api/ covering orders, server power and reinstall, snapshots, firewalls, SSH keys, ISO mounting, IPv6 and reverse DNS, with an idempotency key on orders. Two API surfaces exist, the new console API and a legacy Peregrine API, which is a second write path to the same resource.
Composes withThis is a control-plane machine, not a data machine: 2 GB of RAM and 10 GB of NVMe run a scheduler, a broker client, a DNS primary or a tunnel endpoint, while the 1 TB a month moves control traffic only. HostHatch's $4.00 sits between them as the cheapest monthly-in-advance 2 GB box with 40 GbE public networking (100 GbE in some regions, per the vendor's own matrix) and a documented API.
Reliabilityno incident observed the vendor's own anniversary post states that on promotional plans 'It can take several days to resolve issues', that promotional servers have a 10-working-day setup, and that promo plans carry no refunds or credits.
NotesEvery price here is the vendor's standing catalogue, not a third-party table. What is unresolved and what would settle it: the '$4.00' is a 'from' figure, and the per-location monthly and annual amounts live in the product catalogue behind the console login, so a session with an account should read GET /projects/{slug}/products/ and replace price_usd_month with the real per-location number. No trial and no signup credit exist on any page read: the documentation bundle has zero occurrences of 'trial', and credit appears only as a balance the customer funds. A coupon aggregator advertises a '$100 Free Trial for 30 Days on VPS Hosting' against HostHatch, which is a template line repeated across that site's coupon pages and appears on no HostHatch page; it is unverified and contradicted by the vendor's own documentation, so it is not recorded as an offer. The login wall is recorded, not worked around. Two further observations: the vendor's own pages disagree on how many locations exist (16 on the products page, 13 on the homepage and features page, 16 data centers on the company page, and 14 rows including Seoul in the docs matrix), and console.hosthatch.com/products/ answered 404. Not in dossier/compute (searched by filename: no hosthatch record
Evidence rungdocumented
Checked2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21
Parsed numbers
  • $.limits[0].value limit:volume-quota 1.0 TB / month
Evidence (15)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22hosthatch.com/productscheapest compute row quoted as a table: 'NVMe 2 GB' / 'from $4.00 / month' / '1 AMD EPYC core ( fair share )' / '2 GB DDR4' / '10 GB NVMe' / '1 TB'
2026-10-22hosthatch.com/productsthe rest of the compute ladder in the same table: 4 GB at $6.00, 8 GB at $9.00, 12 GB at $12.00, 16 GB at $15.00, 24 GB at $22.00, 32 GB at $29.00, 48 GB at $39.00, 64 GB at $49.00, 96 GB at $69.00, each with the NVMe and transfer figure recorded in offer
2026-10-22hosthatch.com/products'Storage 1TB from $5.00 / month' with '1 vCPU core', '1024 MB', '1000 GB', '2500 GB', and the line 'Available in 8 strategic locations. Built for mass storage and backups and running large enterprise-grade spinning hard disk drives.'
2026-10-22hosthatch.com/'Our smallest plan costs $4 per month (less than a cup of coffee). Deploy it and see for yourself'
2026-10-22hosthatch.com/productsthe bandwidth column carries footnote 1: 'Bandwidth limits are different for the APAC region. Hover over the bandwidth to see them.' The APAC figures are behind a hover and were not captured by a text read, so no APAC number is recorded here from this page.
2026-10-22docs.hosthatch.com/api/orders-and-payment/'The order pays for itself from the project owner's account credit when the credit covers it. Otherwise it waits while its invoice is paid in the console.' Also, of the catalogue's example values: 'The examples' prices are illustrations: the endpoints answer with yours.'
2026-10-22docs.hosthatch.com/llms-full.txtthe whole documentation bundle, 228991 bytes read, contains no occurrence of the word 'trial' (grep -c -i trial returned 0), and no page offers signup credit: 'credit' appears only as billing_account.credit_balance, a balance the customer pays in
2026-10-22cloud.hosthatch.com/signup'Please enter your personal information as accurately as possible to avoid false-positives by our fraud detection system. The information you provide us with will be used for your invoices and any other billing related processes.' and 'An email will be sent to your email address with a verification link.'
2026-10-22console.hosthatch.com/accounts/signup/the new console registration form asks for 'Email', 'Password' and 'Project ID (Optional)' plus agreement to the terms, and asks for no payment detail at signup
2026-10-22lowendtalk.com/discussion/216524/calmly-celebrating-15-yearsfirst-party promotional post: 2 cores, '4 GB RAM', '50 GB NVMe storage', '5 TB bandwidth (3 TB in APAC, 1.5TB in Seoul)', '$35 per year, $95 per 3 years'; with 'All sales are final. We cannot change with another service. We do not provide refunds (or credits) for these plans.' and 'The setup time is 10 working days (2 weeks).'
2026-10-22lowendtalk.com/discussion/216524/calmly-celebrating-15-years'We no longer aim for the ultra low spec/price deadpool deals.' and 'Our promotional services are provided at near-cost pricing to fill up excess capacity and should be used accordingly.', plus 'It can take several days to resolve issues, especially issues that require complex investigation.'
2026-10-22cloud.hosthatch.com/sale/current-promotionsthe broker returned status 409 'login wall', reason login-wall, retryable false, for both this path and https://cloud.hosthatch.com/, so the live per-location catalogue and the current promotion page were not readable without an account
2026-10-22hosthatch.com/productsStorage VMs block quoted: 'Storage 1TB from $5.00 / month', '1 vCPU core', '1024 MB', '1000 GB', '2500 GB'; and 'Storage 10TB from $38.00 / month', '2 vCPU cores', '2048 MB', '10000 GB', '25000 GB'
2026-10-22hosthatch.com/productsthe storage line is described as 'Built for mass storage and backups and running large enterprise-grade spinning hard disk drives', available in 8 locations
2026-10-22hosthatch.com/storage-vpsthe storage path redirects to /products, which is the page carrying both the compute and the storage tables; there is no separate storage page
More fields (1)
{
 "wave2": {
  "class": null,
  "free_tier_kind": "none",
  "shape": {
   "vcpu": 1,
   "ram_gib": 2,
   "disk_gib": 10,
   "gpu_class": null,
   "gpu_count": null
  },
  "merged_agents": [
   "storage-us-eu"
  ],
  "merged_evidence_rows": 3,
  "merged_note": "Storage VMs in eight locations on spinning disks: 1 TB for USD 5.00/month with 1 vCPU and 1,024 MB RAM, 2 TB USD 9.00, 3 TB USD 12.00 (2,048 MB), 4 TB USD 16.00 (2 vCPU), 5 TB USD 20.00, 6 TB USD 24.00, 8 TB USD 32.00, 10 TB USD 38.00. Each plan carries 2.5 times its disk in monthly transfer. All figures are printed as 'from'."
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (5)
  • $.chaining partly-held
  • $.per_object_cap.notes process
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-applicable
  • $.retention.notes process
  • $.retention.stated not-applicable