fshy / Compute / Egress and tunnels / Storage
IBM Cloud
ibm.com · Compute, Egress and tunnels, Storage · 8 records · JSON
- IBM Quantum Open Computecaveatemailno cardDvolume-quota
- IBM Cloud ComputetrialcardcardDvolume-quota
- IBM Cloud VPC Computetrialemail?card?Dretention-clamped
- IBM Cloud Egress and tunnelstrialcardcardUvolume-quota
- ibm aspera on cloud Storagefails: quotaemail?card?R
- IBM Cloud Container Registry (free plan) Storagefails: quotaemail?card?Rper-ip-shaping
- ibm cloud object storage lite plan as a storage tier Storagefails: quotaemail?card?R
- IBM Cloud Object Storage — Standard plan Free Tier Storagefails: quotacard?cardRretention-clamped
IBM Quantum Open Compute
caveatemailno cardDvolume-quota
| Free tier | Batch 1 recorded the Open Plan at 10 minutes of QPU runtime per 28-day rolling window. IBM's documentation confirms it and adds a time box and a constraint batch 1 did not carry, quoted: 'Run your quantum circuits on the world's leading QPUs for free (up to 10 minutes per 28-day rolling window)' and 'Open Plan instances can only be created in the us-east region'. The promotion is quoted: 'As of 16 March 2026, active Open Plan users can opt in to an additional 180 minutes over the next 12 months', and the blog states the precondition: 'Use 20 minutes of runtime within any 12-month period' and that the plan 'reverts back to 10 minutes/month once 12-month period ends'. unit minutes; metered on wall-clock; monthly-allowance |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | email not published |
| Limits |
The allowance is 10 minutes in 28 days and every circuit execution plus its transpile and queue overhead spends it, so a single variational loop exhausts a month, and the 180-minute promotion cannot be reached in under two months because it requires 20 minutes of prior runtime. |
| Binding | volume-quota The allowance is 10 minutes in 28 days and every circuit execution plus its transpile and queue overhead spends it, so a single variational loop exhausts a month, and the 180-minute promotion cannot be reached in under two months because it requires 20 minutes of prior runtime. |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | A 10-minute-a-month QPU allowance composes with a simulator on a free CPU runner, because most of the work in a variational loop can be done on a simulator and only the final evaluation needs the hardware. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | The promotion is the interesting term: 180 minutes for 12 months is 18 times the base allowance, and it is reachable by for a user because the only preconditions are a non-trial account and 20 minutes of prior use. The failure is the price beyond the line: one user cites USD 96 a minute on the pay-as-you-go meter, so an overrun is not a soft stop and the 10-minute window has to be watched rather than delegated. Batch 1's figure is confirmed; the region restriction and the promotion are additions. |
| Evidence rung | documented |
| Checked | 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-21 |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence (5)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overview | quoted: 'up to 10 minutes per 28-day rolling window'; 'Open Plan instances can only be created in the us-east region'; 'active Open Plan users can opt in to an additional 180 minutes over the next 12 months' |
| 2026-10-22 | www.ibm.com/quantum/pricing | Open Plan: 'Access quantum computers for up to 10 minutes of runtime per month. Active users may be eligible to request additional time.' Price: Free, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overview | 'Run your quantum circuits on the world's best QPUs for free (up to 10 minutes per 28-day rolling window)'; Open Plan instances can only be created in the us-east region, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.ibm.com/quantum/blog/open-plan-updates | quoted: 'users who use 20 minutes of runtime within any 12-month period can opt in to a special one-time promotion and get 180 minutes of runtime for the next 12 months'; 'Plan reverts back to 10 minutes/month once 12-month period ends'; pre-req 'Non-trial account' [re-read 2026-10-22] |
| 2026-10-22 | quantumcomputing.stackexchange.com/questions/46432/do-paid-p | a user who spent the whole 10-minute allowance reports being 10 minutes short of the promotion, and quotes the pay-as-you-go rate as USD 96 a minute, with no documented answer on whether paid minutes count [date precision: year precision] [re-read 2026-10-22] |
More fields (1)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "verification",
"free_tier_kind": "monthly-allowance",
"shape": null
}
}Unknown or withheld values (10)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.identity_cost.detailprocess$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated
IBM Cloud Compute
trialcardcardDvolume-quota
| Free tier | The free page states: 'You get credit for your first USD 200 of apps and services on us. Try any IBM Cloud product with this credit, available for 30 days.' The account itself is Pay-As-You-Go from registration: 'Even though you provide your credit card information for account security and identity verification purposes, you can still use IBM Cloud for free by selecting products in the catalog that offer Free and Lite pricing plans.' unit mixed; metered on none; the USD 200 is a 30-day offset, not a perpetual free tier |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | card card required to create the account; a temporary verification hold is reversed within 24 to 72 hours, and its amount is not published on the account FAQ; debit accepted only if it is a Visa or Mastercard and not a disposable or one-time-use number, so virtual and prepaid-style cards are refused; email first, then card |
| Limits |
the card is required before the balance is usable, and no catalog Free plan is a virtual server |
| Binding | volume-quota the 30-day window ends the USD 200; the card is required before the balance is usable |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | Nothing composes. The USD 200 credit on a new Pay-As-You-Go account is a 30-day trial, and it is spent on billed services rather than held as a free tier. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | This record refutes the claim that IBM Cloud offers a free account with no card and no end date: registration produces a Pay-As-You-Go account with a card, and the Lite accounts described in old tutorials are only those created before 2021-10-25. The free balance is USD 200 for 30 days. The academic trial remains the institution door. What would reopen the refutation is a catalog Free plan for VPC Virtual Server Instances, which does not exist on 2026-10-23. PAYMENT CORRECTION 2026-10-24: the corpus table gives IBM a hold of 'about USD 1.00, published as typically around'. The account FAQ publishes no amount, only the 24-to-72-hour reversal, so the USD 1.00 figure is not confirmed here and is left as a dash. The card-type rule is documented and is the material one: disposable and one-time-use numbers are refused, which is how IBM phrases its prepaid and virtual exclusion. |
| Evidence rung | documented Payment facts re-read on 2026-10-24: the card types, the hold and the identity gate each come from a first-party page quoted in evidence[]. |
| Checked | 2026-10-25 (live); stale on 2026-11-24 |
Evidence (6)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | cloud.ibm.com/docs/account?topic=account-accounts | docs last updated 2026-04-17: registration produces a Pay-As-You-Go account with a credit card required for identity verification; Lite accounts are only those created before 25 October 2021, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | cloud.ibm.com/docs/account?topic=account-accounts | the only card-free account is a Trial, which requires institution credentials via ibm.biz/academic and expires after 30 days |
| 2026-10-22 | www.ibm.com/products/cloud/free | vendor states a nominal hold of typically about USD 1.00 is placed on the card, and Lite service instances are deleted after 30 days of no development activity |
| 2026-10-23 | www.ibm.com/products/cloud/free | 'You get credit for your first USD 200 of apps and services on us. Try any IBM Cloud product with this credit, available for 30 days.', quoted; the same page lists 40 or more always-free Lite products and five promotion codes with a 2026-12-31 expiry |
| 2026-10-24 | cloud.ibm.com/docs/account?topic=account-accountfaqs | quoted: 'For identity verification, a credit card is required when you create a new account. A debit card is acceptable if it is from Visa or Mastercard, and it is not a disposable card or one-time use card number.' |
| 2026-10-24 | cloud.ibm.com/docs/account?topic=account-accountfaqs | quoted, the hold: 'As part of the authorization process, you might see a temporary hold on your credit card for verification and security when creating an account. This credit card hold is reversed within 24 to 72 hours.' |
More fields (5)
{
"wave2": {
"class": "refutation-no-free-vm",
"free_tier_kind": "one-time-credit",
"shape": null
},
"hourly_usd": {
"bx4_4x16_derived": 0.183208,
"bx4_2x8_derived": 0.091604
},
"component_rates": {
"usd_per_63_vcpu_hours": 1.7626,
"usd_per_450_gb_hours": 2.0054
},
"rate_basis": "derived on 2026-10-23 from IBM's component rates; no per-profile rate is published and the console estimator was not reached",
"payment_methods": {
"card_at_signup": "yes",
"debit": "accepted-with-condition",
"prepaid": "refused",
"virtual": "refused",
"hold_amount": null,
"hold_detail": "temporary hold reversed within 24 to 72 hours; amount not published on the page read",
"identity": "email, then a card used for identity verification",
"source_url": "https://cloud.ibm.com/docs/account?topic=account-accountfaqs",
"read_on": "2026-10-24"
}
}Unknown or withheld values (9)
$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-applicable$.toolingnot-stated
Corrections
- 2026-10-23 The credit ladder was re-read, and eight claims moved
IBM Cloud VPC Compute
trialemail?card?Dretention-clamped
| Free tier | no free tier: new VPC clients get 70% off for 12 months on virtual servers, block storage and file storage, and the offer expires 2026-12-31 unit none; metered on none |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | not stated |
| Egress | not stated |
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
| Limits |
not stated |
| Binding | retention-clamped |
| Interface | unknown |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | not stated |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Evidence rung | documented the virtual servers pricing page was read on 2026-10-22 and carries a discount rather than an allowance. A 12-month 70% discount is a trial by another name, so the verdict moves to trial-only and the expiry is recorded |
| Checked | 2026-10-23 (live); stale on 2026-11-22 |
Evidence (2)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-02 | www.ibm.com/products/virtual-servers/pricing | not published |
| 2026-10-22 | www.ibm.com/products/virtual-servers/pricing | 'IBM Cloud VPC - 70% off for 12 months. Only valid for new IBM Cloud VPC clients', covering 'Virtual Server Instances (VSI), Block Storage, and File Storage', with 'Expires 31 December 2026', quoted |
More fields (16)
{
"talaria_m10h_usd": 9.83,
"talaria_m24h_usd": 23.59,
"nemo_m10h_usd": 10.55,
"keep_rate": 1.0,
"keep_rate_basis": null,
"billing_model": "unclassified",
"shape": null,
"session_cap": {
"wall_clock_min": null,
"idle_reap_s": null,
"restart_required": false,
"note": "an instance bills while it exists; the discount is the clock, not a machine"
},
"persistent_storage": null,
"network_out": null,
"price_note": null,
"free_tier_kind": "trial",
"granularity": {
"min_billed_s": 0,
"rounding_s": null
},
"burst_x": 1.0,
"ps": {
"gib": null,
"price": "block and file storage are included in the same 70% discount",
"durability": "block or file storage",
"on_stop": true,
"on_destroy": false,
"retention": "while the volume exists"
},
"net": {
"out": true,
"in": true,
"ports": "any",
"static_ip": true,
"ipv6": true,
"allowance": "up to 80 Gbps across general-purpose profiles"
}
}Unknown or withheld values (17)
$.chainingnot-stated$.egress.meteredegress-unknown$.egress.termsnot-stated$.evidence[0].provedprocess$.extras.keep_rate_basisprocess$.extras.price_noteprocess$.identity_cost.detaildefaulted$.identity_cost.kindidentity-defaulted$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.interface_detailwithheld$.limits_notenot-stated$.per_object_cap.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.statednot-stated$.reliability_notenone-observed$.retention.notesnot-extracted$.retention.statednot-stated$.toolingnot-stated
IBM Cloud Egress and tunnels
trialcardcardUvolume-quota
| Free tier | To receive the USD 200 credit, you first need to upgrade to a Pay-as-you-go account ... Your promotional credit of USD 200 is automatically applied but might take a few hours to appear in your account. The credit is available for first-time Pay-as-you-go accounts only. unit mixed; metered on downloaded-bytes |
|---|---|
| Price | USD 200 of credit |
| Per-object cap | not applicable |
| Retention | not applicable |
| Egress | USD 200 of credit; the egress rate it is spent against was not read today, so the TB it buys is not established; ingress: udp free_allowance: none published |
| Identity | card Payment details are required up front ... there will be a nominal hold placed on your card to verify its authenticity ... typically around USD 1.00. |
| Limits |
|
| Binding | volume-quota the credit is the only allowance named, and neither its expiry nor the egress rate it buys was readable on the page, so what fails first at 1 TiB a month is unestablished rather than known. |
| Interface | cli, rest the IBM Cloud CLI and the VPC API |
| Tooling | wg-quick on the VPC instance; the IBM Cloud CLI |
| Composes with | a 200 dollar credit that could pay for a VPC instance and its egress, if the rate and expiry turn out to be workable |
| Reliability | Lite-plan service instances are deleted after 30 days without development activity |
| Notes | Arithmetic is blocked on the egress rate. The credit is real and documented at USD 200, but a credit whose expiry is unstated and whose spend rate is unread cannot be converted to TiB, and inventing either number would be worse than the gap. Candidates considered: the 40 Lite-plan products, which are always free and include no VM with a public IP in this reading, and the academic trial, which needs an accredited institution. Left open: the expiry, which IBM's own promo documentation holds and the broker refused. |
| Evidence rung | unverified the credit amount is documented but the two numbers the arithmetic needs, the expiry and the per-GB egress rate, were not on the page and the promo-code documentation returned a broker 500. A read of the VPC for VPC pricing page and the promo terms would settle both |
| Checked | 2026-10-23 (live); stale on 2026-11-06 |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence (2)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-23 | www.ibm.com/cloud/free | 'Your promotional credit of USD 200 is automatically applied', 'The credit is available for first-time Pay-as-you-go accounts only', 'Payment details are required up front' |
| 2026-10-23 | www.ibm.com/cloud/free | 'After 30 days of no development activity, your service instances with Lite plans are deleted', the reliability note for anything left running |
More fields (7)
{
"wg_path": "native-conf",
"wg_detail": "a VPC virtual server instance with a floating IP; wg-quick binds UDP on the instance",
"ingress": "udp",
"volume_tib_month": null,
"volume_stated": "USD 200 of credit; the egress rate it is spent against was not read today, so the TB it buys is not established",
"bytes_transit": "yes",
"transit_note": "outbound bytes cross IBM's network and are metered against the pay-as-you-go account the credit sits on"
}Unknown or withheld values (2)
$.per_object_cap.statednot-applicable$.retention.statednot-applicable
ibm aspera on cloud Storage
fails: quotaemail?card?R
| Free tier | Trial only and small: 30 days OR 50 GB of transfer volume, whichever comes first, and package sending to external users is disabled during the trial. FASP's speed advantage is real but there unit none; metered on none |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not recorded |
| Retention | not recorded |
| Egress | not recorded |
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
| Binding | none no constraint of a named kind was recorded; the verdict rests on the quota sentence rather than on a named limit |
| Interface | unknown |
| Tooling | not recorded |
| Composes with | not recorded |
| Reliability | Trial only and small: 30 days OR 50 GB of transfer volume, whichever comes first, and package sending to external users is disabled during the trial. FASP's speed advantage is real but there |
| Notes | Trial only and small: 30 days OR 50 GB of transfer volume, whichever comes first, and package sending to external users is disabled during the trial. FASP's speed advantage is real but there |
| Evidence rung | reported |
| Checked | 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04 |
Evidence (1)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | www.ibm.com/docs/en/aspera-on-cloud?topic=started-try-aspera | Trial only and small: 30 days OR 50 GB of transfer volume, whichever comes first, and package sending to external users is disabled during the trial. FASP's speed advantage is real but there |
More fields (1)
{
"dead_end": {
"failure_class": "quota",
"why": "Trial only and small: 30 days OR 50 GB of transfer volume, whichever comes first, and package sending to external users is disabled during the trial. FASP's speed advantage is real but there",
"retry_when": null,
"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
}
}Unknown or withheld values (15)
$.chainingnot-recorded$.confidence_notewithheld$.egress.termsnot-recorded$.extras.dead_end.retry_whenprocess$.free_tier.notesprocess$.identity_cost.detaildefaulted$.identity_cost.kindidentity-defaulted$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.interface_detailwithheld$.limits_noteprocess$.per_object_cap.notesnot-recorded$.per_object_cap.statednot-recorded$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-recorded$.toolingnot-recorded
IBM Cloud Container Registry (free plan) Storage
fails: quotaemail?card?Rper-ip-shaping
| Free tier | 500 MB storage and 5 GB pull traffic per month: 'Amount of storage for images | 500 MB | Unlimited', 'Pull traffic | 5 GB per month | Unlimited' (Free vs Standard). Free-plan allowance confirmed in the quota doc: 'The free tier allowance for storage is 512 MB and traffic is 5120 MB.' unit GB; metered on stored-bytes |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | not stated |
| Egress | Pull traffic is metered as a quota, not priced per GB on the free plan: 'Pull traffic across public connections counts toward usage and quota. Pull traffic across private connections doesn't count.' Exceed it and access stops — 'If you exceed your storage or pull traffic limits, you cannot push or pull images to and from your namespace.' |
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
| Limits |
512 MB storage, 5 GB pull traffic per month, per account across all namespaces in a registry instance; overage blocks push and pull entirely. |
| Binding | per-ip-shaping one stream is shaped, and a user's throughput is the shaped rate times the number of streams |
| Interface | oci, cli oci |
| Tooling | ibmcloud cr CLI, docker/skopeo. OCI distribution spec compliant. |
| Composes with | None — 512 MB is per IBM Cloud account and the overage behaviour is a hard stop, not a bill. |
| Reliability | Hard cutoff on quota rather than overage billing, so a bulk workload simply stops mid-transfer. |
| Notes | 500 MB storage and 5 GB pull traffic per month: 'Amount of storage for images | 500 MB | Unlimited', 'Pull traffic | 5 GB per month | Unlimited' (Free vs Standard). Free-plan allowance confirmed in the quota doc: 'The free tier allowance for storage is 512 MB and traffic is 5120 MB.' |
| Evidence rung | reported One page read moves it to documented. |
| Checked | 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04 |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence (3)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | cloud.ibm.com/docs/Registry?topic=Registry-registry_overview | Free plan 500 MB storage / 5 GB pull traffic; 'you cannot push or pull images' on exceed |
| 2026-10-21 | cloud.ibm.com/docs/Registry?topic=Registry-registry_quota | 'free tier allowance for storage is 512 MB and traffic is 5120 MB' |
| 2026-10-21 | us.icr.io/v2/ | probe: GET -> 401, Server: IBM Cloud Container Registry, realm https://us.icr.io/oauth/token |
More fields (1)
{
"dead_end": {
"failure_class": "quota",
"why": "500 MB storage and 5 GB pull traffic per month: 'Amount of storage for images | 500 MB | Unlimited', 'Pull traffic | 5 GB per month | Unlimited' (Free vs Standard). Free-plan allowance confirmed in the quota doc: 'The free tier allowance for storage is 512 MB and traffic is 5120 MB.'",
"retry_when": null,
"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
}
}Unknown or withheld values (8)
$.extras.dead_end.retry_whenprocess$.free_tier.notesprocess$.identity_cost.detaildefaulted$.identity_cost.kindidentity-defaulted$.per_object_cap.notesnot-extracted$.per_object_cap.statednot-extracted$.retention.notesnot-extracted$.retention.statednot-extracted
ibm cloud object storage lite plan as a storage tier Storage
fails: quotaemail?card?R
| Free tier | The Lite plan is always-free and never expires, but the published storage allowance belongs to the Standard plan Free Tier (5 GB for 12 months). No Lite storage quota was published on any IB unit none; metered on none |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not recorded |
| Retention | not recorded |
| Egress | not recorded |
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
| Binding | none no constraint of a named kind was recorded; the verdict rests on the quota sentence rather than on a named limit |
| Interface | unknown |
| Tooling | not recorded |
| Composes with | not recorded |
| Reliability | The Lite plan is always-free and never expires, but the published storage allowance belongs to the Standard plan Free Tier (5 GB for 12 months). No Lite storage quota was published on any IB |
| Notes | The Lite plan is always-free and never expires, but the published storage allowance belongs to the Standard plan Free Tier (5 GB for 12 months). No Lite storage quota was published on any IB |
| Evidence rung | reported |
| Checked | 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04 |
Evidence (2)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | www.ibm.com/products/cloud/free | The Lite plan is always-free and never expires, but the published storage allowance belongs to the Standard plan Free Tier (5 GB for 12 months). No Lite storage quota was published on any IB |
| 2026-10-21 | cloud.ibm.com/docs/cloud-object-storage?topic=cloud-object-s | cited as the basis of the rejection: The Lite plan is always-free and never expires, but the published storage allowance belongs to the Standard plan Free Tier (5 GB for 12 months). No Lite storage quota was published on any IB |
More fields (1)
{
"dead_end": {
"failure_class": "retention",
"why": "The Lite plan is always-free and never expires, but the published storage allowance belongs to the Standard plan Free Tier (5 GB for 12 months). No Lite storage quota was published on any IB",
"retry_when": null,
"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
}
}Unknown or withheld values (15)
$.chainingnot-recorded$.confidence_notewithheld$.egress.termsnot-recorded$.extras.dead_end.retry_whenprocess$.free_tier.notesprocess$.identity_cost.detaildefaulted$.identity_cost.kindidentity-defaulted$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.interface_detailwithheld$.limits_noteprocess$.per_object_cap.notesnot-recorded$.per_object_cap.statednot-recorded$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-recorded$.toolingnot-recorded
IBM Cloud Object Storage — Standard plan Free Tier Storage
fails: quotacard?cardRretention-clamped
| Free tier | 5 GB/month of Smart Tier storage, 2,000 Class A + 20,000 Class B requests, 10 GB/month retrieval, 5 GB/month egress — for 12 months. The separate Lite plan (always-free, never expires) does not carry a published storage allowance on the current pages. unit GB; metered on stored-bytes |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | Lite-plan instances are deleted after 30 days of no development activity. (30 days) |
| Egress | 5 GB/month egress inside the Free Tier; beyond that it is metered per GB. Not free egress at any useful scale. free_allowance: 5 GB per month |
| Identity | card (placeholder) inferred from the category 'iaas'; the source record states no identity cost, so this is a class assumption, not evidence |
| Limits |
5 GB storage / 5 GB egress / 12 months. Reaching any quota 'suspends the service for that month'. Lite-plan instances are deleted after 30 days of no development activity. |
| Binding | retention-clamped a clock, not a quota: bytes leave whether or not the client is finished with them |
| Interface | s3-compatible, rclone s3 |
| Tooling | IBM COS S3 API — rclone 's3' provider name 'IBM COS S3'; HMAC or IAM keys; pre-signed URLs (docs note the UI does not generate them, use Cyberduck/clients). |
| Composes with | One Lite instance per service per org; quota limits are per ORG, not per instance ('New instances that are created in the same org reflect any usage from previous instances'), which deliberately blocks instance multiplication inside an org. |
| Reliability | Service suspends at quota rather than billing overage — no surprise bills, but no headroom either. Lite instances vanish after 30 idle days. |
| Notes | 5 GB/month of Smart Tier storage, 2,000 Class A + 20,000 Class B requests, 10 GB/month retrieval, 5 GB/month egress — for 12 months. The separate Lite plan (always-free, never expires) does not carry a published storage allowance on the current pages. |
| Evidence rung | reported One page read moves it to documented. |
| Checked | 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04 |
Evidence (3)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | cloud.ibm.com/objectstorage/create | 'Free Tier allowance: Storage up to 5GB/month ... Up to 5GB/month of egress' |
| 2026-10-21 | cloud.ibm.com/docs/cloud-object-storage?topic=cloud-object-s | '5GB of free monthly usage for up to 12 months from the sign-up date' |
| 2026-10-21 | www.ibm.com/products/cloud/free | 'After 30 days of no development activity, your service instances with Lite plans are deleted'; 'Quota limits are per org, not per instance' |
More fields (1)
{
"dead_end": {
"failure_class": "retention",
"why": "5 GB/month of Smart Tier storage, 2,000 Class A + 20,000 Class B requests, 10 GB/month retrieval, 5 GB/month egress — for 12 months. The separate Lite plan (always-free, never expires) does not carry a published storage allowance on the current pages.",
"retry_when": null,
"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
}
}Unknown or withheld values (6)
$.extras.dead_end.retry_whenprocess$.free_tier.notesprocess$.identity_cost.kindidentity-defaulted$.per_object_cap.notesnot-extracted$.per_object_cap.statednot-extracted$.retention.notesnot-extracted