fshy

fshy / Storage

CurseForge

curseforge.com · Storage · 2 records · JSON

CurseForge (Overwolf) author file hosting Storage

caveatemail?card?Rwrite-gateddisagrees

www.curseforge.com · media · storage/curseforge-author-file-hosting · JSON · compare

Sibling records disagree:

Free tierWhat IS verifiable is the observed size distribution: live file listings show modpacks at 89.1, 101.6 and 468.1 MB, and a single mod file at 66.7 MB. The one hard number surfaced is a *media* cap of 2 MB for images ('Why is it only 2MB??' - author complaint, still open, 'Future consideration'), and a forum report of a 350 MB mod upload being rejected without an external-URL option.
unit MB; metered on unstated
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionretention: indefinite for approved files; 'Files updates in order to increase visibility is not allowed' and files must carry a changelog
EgressFree and CDN'd via CloudFront in front of S3: edge.forgecdn.net and mediafilez.forgecdn.net return 'X-Cache: Miss from cloudfront' and 'Server: AmazonS3'. No billing. Hotlink-protected - a guessed object path returns 403 from S3 rather than bytes, so URLs must come from the API.
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Limits
  • write-gated approved files source
  • write-gated review gate', not as bulk storage source
evidence points below 500 MB for mods (350 MB rejection reported, 468.1 MB modpack published, so the ceiling is game-dependent and enforced client-side per the August release notes: 'Added new client-side validation - preventing upload of large files on unsupported games'). retention: indefinite for approved files; 'Files updates in order to increase visibility is not allowed' and files must carry a changelog. request-rate: not published.
Bindingwrite-gated the write is a queue with a person or a rule in it, so the upload rate is set by somebody else
Interfacerest, sftp, rclone rest
ToolingOfficial upload API with X-API-TOKEN and multipart metadata + file (third-party implementations exist, e.g. TeamDman/SuperFactoryManager and BreakBB/DisenchantBuddy shell out to it); cfwidget mirrors file metadata (id, filesize, uploaded_at) publicly. No SFTP, no rclone.
Composes withUnlimited projects per author account, unlimited files per project, unlimited versions. The provider therefore polices project count and not only request rate.
ReliabilityReads are hotlink-gated (403 from S3 on constructed URLs) and the whole author surface is SSO-walled, so this is the least auditable of the game hosts. Moderation is active and rule-driven. Best treated as 'large-ish files with a review gate', not as bulk storage.
NotesWhat IS verifiable is the observed size distribution: live file listings show modpacks at 89.1, 101.6 and 468.1 MB, and a single mod file at 66.7 MB. The one hard number surfaced is a *media* cap of 2 MB for images ('Why is it only 2MB??' - author complaint, still open, 'Future consideration'), and a forum report of a 350 MB mod upload being rejected without an external-URL option.
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Evidence (7)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21www.curseforge.com/minecraft/modpacks/better-mc-forge-bmc4/ffile sizes 89.1 MB, 101.6 MB, 85.5 MB, 83.5 MB in the live listing
2026-10-21www.curseforge.com/minecraft/modpacks/rlcraft/files48.9/49.0/48.0 MB; a 51324367-byte file confirmed via api.cfwidget.com (id 4612979)
2026-10-21curseforge-ideas.overwolf.com/ideas/CF-I-8110'Why is it only 2MB??' media cap, status 'Future consideration'
2026-10-21nullforums.net/threads/unable-to-upload-mod-file-larger-thanJan 2025: >350 MB mod rejected, no external-URL option offered
2026-10-21blog.curseforge.com/platform-release-notes-august-26/'Added new client-side validation - preventing upload of large files on unsupported games'
2026-10-21support.curseforge.com/en/support/solutions/articles/9000197'It is not allowed to upload multiple similar and/or low effort projects in an attempt to game the system'. In plain terms, the policy puts a ceiling on project count rather than only on request rate.
2026-10-21edge.forgecdn.net/files/5000/100/probe: GET ... -> 302 then 403 from AmazonS3 via cloudfront (hotlink protection live)
Unknown or withheld values (6)
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.identity_cost.detail defaulted
  • $.identity_cost.kind identity-defaulted
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted

CurseForge (Overwolf) author upload API Storage

fails: quotaemail?card?Rdisagrees

www.curseforge.com · registry · storage/curseforge-author-upload-api · JSON · compare

Sibling records disagree:

Free tierNo published per-file or total quota. Known caps: project media/gallery images limited to 2 MB (author complaint, Apr 2026); mod file upload limit not documented anywhere public — the biggest evidence gap in this dossier.
unit MB; metered on unstated
Pricenone stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
EgressFree, Cloudflare-fronted (edge.forgecdn.net / mediafilez.forgecdn.net), no auth on downloads.
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Bindingnone no constraint of a named kind was recorded; the verdict rests on the quota sentence rather than on a named limit
Interfacerest, rclone rest
ToolingDocumented Upload API: POST /api/projects/{projectId}/upload-file with multipart metadata + file, X-Api-Token header; also Maven for some project types. Third-party wrapper: github.com/itsmeow/curseforge-upload. No rclone.
Composes withUnlimited projects per author account (no documented cap) x unknown per-file size. If the effective cap resembles Modrinth's 500 MiB, 1000 projects = ~500 GB.
ReliabilityManual moderation queue means automated bulk uploads get rejected or the author account locked; releases can be delisted retroactively.
NotesNo published per-file or total quota. Known caps: project media/gallery images limited to 2 MB (author complaint, Apr 2026); mod file upload limit not documented anywhere public — the biggest evidence gap in this dossier.
Evidence rungreported One page read moves it to documented.
Checked2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04
Evidence (4)
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21support.curseforge.com/en/support/solutions/articles/9000197'POST multipart/form-data request to /api/projects/{projectId}/upload-file'
2026-10-21wiki.nemonotfound.com/third-party/curseforge-upload-apitoken generation + auth details
2026-10-21curseforge-ideas.overwolf.com/ideas/CF-I-8110'Why is it only 2MB??' for media uploads, Apr 2026
2026-10-21blog.curseforge.com/curseforge-platform-release-notes-march/'Improved the ability to upload bigger files to projects' (no number given)
More fields (1)
{
 "dead_end": {
  "failure_class": "quota",
  "why": "No published per-file or total quota. Known caps: project media/gallery images limited to 2 MB (author complaint, Apr 2026); mod file upload limit not documented anywhere public — the biggest evidence gap in this dossier.",
  "retry_when": null,
  "first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
 }
}
Unknown or withheld values (8)
  • $.extras.dead_end.retry_when process
  • $.free_tier.notes process
  • $.identity_cost.detail defaulted
  • $.identity_cost.kind identity-defaulted
  • $.per_object_cap.notes not-extracted
  • $.per_object_cap.stated not-extracted
  • $.retention.notes not-extracted
  • $.retention.stated not-extracted