fshy

Home / AWS

AWS Academy

aws.amazon.com/training/awsacademy/Dev environmentcompute/aws-academyJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
Quoted: 'AWS Academy provides higher education institutions with a free, ready-to-teach cloud computing curriculum'.
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
no price stated
Identity
institutionno card, no phone
Binding limit
write-gatedAn institution must join the programme and an enrolled educator must run the course before a student sees anything, and what the student then sees is course material and a Skill Builder subscription rather than compute.
Evidence
documented1 source; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tierQuoted: 'AWS Academy provides higher education institutions with a free, ready-to-teach cloud computing curriculum'. What students actually receive is listed under Students: 'Complimentary access to AWS Skill Builder subscription for 12 months' and 'Exclusive access to the Emerging Talent Community upon course completion'. Educators get '100% discounts on AWS Certification exams' and a Skill Builder subscription. No compute allowance is stated for either group on this page.
unit none; metered on wall-clock; perpetual
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated (binding) An institution must join the programme and an enrolled educator must run the course before a student sees anything, and what the student then sees is course material and a Skill Builder subscription rather than compute. source
Identityinstitution not published
Egressnot stated
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withComposes with nothing for a user: it is the AWS programme with the largest institutional footprint and the smallest student allowance, and it is often confused with AWS Educate in student-offer lists.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesRecorded as a refutation of a name that appears on almost every student-offer list beside AWS Educate. The two AWS programmes are different in kind: AWS Educate is open to any individual with an email but its labs are simulated, and AWS Academy needs an institution and an educator but its students still receive no compute. Neither is a compute source for a user. What would overturn this is a lab or credit line on the AWS Academy student page that the read did not surface; the page was read in full at 1741 words and states none.
Evidence 1
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22aws.amazon.com/training/awsacademy/'AWS Academy provides higher education institutions with a free, ready-to-teach cloud computing curriculum'; the student benefits are a 12-month Skill Builder subscription and Emerging Talent Community access; the page states no compute or credit allowance.
More fields 1
{
 "facets": {
  "class": "student-pack",
  "free_tier_kind": "perpetual",
  "shape": null
 }
}
Unknown values 7
  • $.egress.metered egress metering was not published
  • $.egress.terms a source was read and is silent on this field
  • $.interface the access interface was not established
  • $.per_object_cap.stated the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • $.reliability_note nothing of this kind was observed
  • $.retention.stated the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • $.tooling a source was read and is silent on this field