Steam
steamgames.com · Storage · 3 records · JSON
- Steam Cloud (developer-set per-app quota) Storagecaveatemail?card?Rper-object-cap
- Steam Workshop (per-app item storage) Storagecaveatanonymousno cardRwrite-gateddisagrees
- steam workshop Storagefails: quotaemail?card?Rdisagrees
Steam Cloud (developer-set per-app quota) Storage
caveatemail?card?Rper-object-cap
| Free tier | Quota is set by each game's developer as 'Byte quota per user' and 'Number of files allowed per user', 'enforced on each Cloud-enabled game, on a per-user-per-game basis'. No Valve-imposed total. Community-observed ceilings: 93 GB per game, ~10,000 files. Defaults are frequently tiny (a few MB to 1 GB). unit objects; metered on unstated |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | 100 MB per File (100000000 bytes) |
| Retention | per-object-cap: 100 MB per FileWrite call (256 MB 'may result in a non-optimal storage endpoint'); per-object-cap: ~10,000 files per cloud save; the game must be launchable/owned for the user, and impersonating it blocks normal play during sync. Retention: indefinite — no expiry documented, but a developer can change quota or delist and the data can be evicted. |
| Egress | Unmetered and anonymous on the download path via the Steam client / Steamworks SDK. No published per-GB charge. |
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
| Limits |
per-object-cap: 100 MB per FileWrite call (256 MB 'may result in a non-optimal storage endpoint'); per-object-cap: ~10,000 files per cloud save; the game must be launchable/owned for the user, and impersonating it blocks normal play during sync. Retention: indefinite — no expiry documented, but a developer can change quota or delist and the data can be evicted. |
| Binding | per-object-cap the per-object cap sets the shard size and therefore the object count; it bounds the total more tightly than any headline quota |
| Interface | rest rest |
| Tooling | Steamworks SDK ISteamRemoteStorage (FileWrite, FileWriteStreamWriteChunk, FileReadAsync). Working wrapper exists: github.com/Fldicoahkiin/SteamCloudFileManager — 237 stars, Rust, Windows/macOS/Linux, '支持任意文件的上传、下载与删除' (arbitrary file upload/download/delete against any owned game's cloud). Design writeup: krutonium.ca/posts/using-steam-as-cloud-storage/. |
| Composes with | One Steam account x every owned Cloud-enabled game with a large quota. At 93 GB/game, 12 games = ~1.1 TB; 100 games = ~9 TB. Multiply again by accounts. The lever is picking titles whose developers set 93 GB, not buying storage. |
| Reliability | Entirely undocumented by Valve; a developer lowering their quota can strand data, and files are re-downloaded into the local save folder on game launch. No public bans recorded. |
| Notes | Quota is set by each game's developer as 'Byte quota per user' and 'Number of files allowed per user', 'enforced on each Cloud-enabled game, on a per-user-per-game basis'. No Valve-imposed total. Community-observed ceilings: 93 GB per game, ~10,000 files. Defaults are frequently tiny (a few MB to 1 GB). |
| Evidence rung | reported One page read moves it to documented. |
| Checked | 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04 |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence (4)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | partner.steamgames.com/doc/features/cloud | 'you must set the Byte quota per user and Number of files allowed per user options ... This quota is enforced on each Cloud-enabled game, on a per-user-per-game basis'; file-size table '100MB Maximum size for a call to ISteamRemoteStorage::FileWrite' |
| 2026-10-21 | krutonium.ca/posts/using-steam-as-cloud-storage/ | (published 2026-05-09) — '93GB Cloud Save Storage per Game, Maximum'; '100MB per File is an Ideal Limit, but above 250MB the back end for the API will start to hate you'; 'Possible Limit of 10,000 Files per Cloud Save' |
| 2026-10-21 | api.steampowered.com/ISteamRemoteStorage/GetPublishedFileDet | probe: GET (POST, no key) -> 200, returns file_size 4997533 for item 450814997 — Steam's public storage APIs answer anonymously |
| 2026-10-21 | forums.factorio.com/viewtopic.php?t=130969 | (Sep 2025) — 'poly bridge 3 has 93GB available', user reports 23GB used in Factorio |
Unknown or withheld values (5)
$.free_tier.notesprocess$.identity_cost.detaildefaulted$.identity_cost.kindidentity-defaulted$.per_object_cap.notesnot-extracted$.retention.notesnot-extracted
Steam Workshop (per-app item storage) Storage
caveatanonymousno cardRwrite-gateddisagrees
Sibling records disagree:
- verdict:
storage/steam-workshopsays qualifies-with-caveat, storage/steam-workshop-2 says fails-quota - identity_kind:
storage/steam-workshopsays anonymous, storage/steam-workshop-2 says email
| Free tier | Per-item size is set by the game developer, not by Valve, and some games are explicitly unlimited — Arma 3: 'Arma 3 Workshop now support items of unlimited size.' Others are tiny: House Flipper raised its cap from 12 MB to 20 MB in a patch. So the quota is per-app, and the number of published items per account is not documented as capped. unit unlimited; metered on unstated |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | not stated |
| Egress | Free and CDN-served by Valve's content network — same infrastructure as game downloads, genuinely unmetered. |
| Identity | anonymous derived from the record's prose, not from an identity field, and no signup was executed: e survived a decade, links do not expire, and downloads are anonymous. Enforcement risk is real but technical: items can be delisted by the app's developer. One Steam account x every Worksh |
| Limits |
Requires ownership of the game and a Steam client to upload — there is no headless upload path, which is the practical blocker. Per-item caps range from 20 MB to unlimited depending on app; preview images go through a separate Steam Cloud quota. |
| Binding | write-gated the write is a queue with a person or a rule in it, so the upload rate is set by somebody else |
| Interface | rest rest |
| Tooling | ISteamUGC (CreateItem + SetItemContent + SubmitItemUpdate) via the Steamworks SDK, so uploads need a Steam client with the game installed. Downloads are scriptable anonymously: steamcmd +login anonymous +workshop_download_item <appid> <publishedfileid>. Third-party downloaders (polocaz/ws-downloader, workshopfetch.com) exist for the read path. |
| Composes with | One Steam account x every Workshop-enabled game it owns x unlimited items per game. This is the multiplier: 'unlimited items per published file ID' inside an app whose developer set no cap. |
| Reliability | Very durable — Workshop items have survived a decade, links do not expire, and downloads are anonymous. Enforcement risk is real but technical: items can be delisted by the app's developer. |
| Notes | Per-item size is set by the game developer, not by Valve, and some games are explicitly unlimited — Arma 3: 'Arma 3 Workshop now support items of unlimited size.' Others are tiny: House Flipper raised its cap from 12 MB to 20 MB in a patch. So the quota is per-app, and the number of published items per account is not documented as capped. |
| Evidence rung | reported One page read moves it to documented. |
| Checked | 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04 |
Evidence (4)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | arma3.com/workshop101 | 'What is the maximum size of a mod? Arma 3 Workshop now support items of unlimited size.' |
| 2026-10-21 | steamcommunity.com/app/3710840/announcements/ | 'Increased the maximum Steam Workshop item size limit from 12 MB to 20 MB. Increased the default Workshop item size from 10 MB to 12 MB.' |
| 2026-10-21 | steamcommunity.com/discussions/forum/1/1744480966997034452/ | 'The maximum size varies depending on what the developers set it as.' |
| 2026-10-21 | partner.steamgames.com/doc/features/workshop | 'Steam Workshop is a system of back-end storage and front-end web pages that make it easy to store, organize, sort, rate, and download content' |
Unknown or withheld values (5)
$.free_tier.notesprocess$.per_object_cap.notesnot-extracted$.per_object_cap.statednot-extracted$.retention.notesnot-extracted$.retention.statednot-extracted
steam workshop Storage
fails: quotaemail?card?Rdisagrees
Sibling records disagree:
- verdict:
storage/steam-workshopsays qualifies-with-caveat, storage/steam-workshop-2 says fails-quota - identity_kind:
storage/steam-workshopsays anonymous, storage/steam-workshop-2 says email
| Free tier | Hard ceiling far below the client's unit size, plus a paid gate: uploads need a Steamworks partner app ($100 Steam Direct fee per product) and the ISteamUGC API is a C++ SDK, not HTTP. Pract unit none; metered on none |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Per-object cap | not recorded |
| Retention | not recorded |
| Egress | not recorded |
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
| Binding | none no constraint of a named kind was recorded; the verdict rests on the quota sentence rather than on a named limit |
| Interface | unknown |
| Tooling | not recorded |
| Composes with | not recorded |
| Reliability | Hard ceiling far below the client's unit size, plus a paid gate: uploads need a Steamworks partner app ($100 Steam Direct fee per product) and the ISteamUGC API is a C++ SDK, not HTTP. Pract |
| Notes | Hard ceiling far below the client's unit size, plus a paid gate: uploads need a Steamworks partner app ($100 Steam Direct fee per product) and the ISteamUGC API is a C++ SDK, not HTTP. Pract |
| Evidence rung | reported |
| Checked | 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-04 |
Evidence (3)
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | partner.steamgames.com/steamdirect | Hard ceiling far below the client's unit size, plus a paid gate: uploads need a Steamworks partner app ($100 Steam Direct fee per product) and the ISteamUGC API is a C++ SDK, not HTTP. Pract |
| 2026-10-21 | steamcommunity.com/discussions/forum/10/4202490864588145731/ | cited as the basis of the rejection: Hard ceiling far below the client's unit size, plus a paid gate: uploads need a Steamworks partner app ($100 Steam Direct fee per product) and the ISteamUGC API is a C++ SDK, not HTTP. Pract |
| 2026-10-21 | steamcommunity.com/app/4000/discussions/5/173434306561546770 | cited as the basis of the rejection: Hard ceiling far below the client's unit size, plus a paid gate: uploads need a Steamworks partner app ($100 Steam Direct fee per product) and the ISteamUGC API is a C++ SDK, not HTTP. Pract |
More fields (1)
{
"dead_end": {
"failure_class": "quota",
"why": "Hard ceiling far below the client's unit size, plus a paid gate: uploads need a Steamworks partner app ($100 Steam Direct fee per product) and the ISteamUGC API is a C++ SDK, not HTTP. Pract",
"retry_when": null,
"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"
}
}Unknown or withheld values (15)
$.chainingnot-recorded$.confidence_notewithheld$.egress.termsnot-recorded$.extras.dead_end.retry_whenprocess$.free_tier.notesprocess$.identity_cost.detaildefaulted$.identity_cost.kindidentity-defaulted$.interfaceinterface-unknown$.interface_detailwithheld$.limits_noteprocess$.per_object_cap.notesnot-recorded$.per_object_cap.statednot-recorded$.retention.notesprocess$.retention.statednot-recorded$.toolingnot-recorded